Thread: Power tube oring down the bolt

Power tube oring down the bolt

I picked up 68 automag in '10 from a kid that didn't know what it was. I attempted to set it up as a spydermag, but lost interest after purchasing a home.

I got this thing back out, and had it running controlled full auto briefly today.
    Now, it is putting the power tube oring down the bolt after the first shot.

Since I'm a relative novice on these, I wanted to ask if I have a timing issue caused by the on/off (ult), or is this the nature of the (what I assume to be) early design, and I need to throw in a lvl 10 and go on with life?

I'm really hoping to get this dialed in and be able to do a ULE body, but want it fully functional before I drop the additional money into it.

Thank You
    Kyle

Alpha Beta Test Monkey
    Guang-Zoo Turbo Systems

If your pic shows the order of how you had it assembled, the power tube oring should go behind the little spring.

Newer Level 7 valves use solid spacers of varying lengths instead of the spring, but my friend has been using the same little spring for over 15 years without issues.

Upgrading to a Level 10 would be money well spent.
    Last of the Salzburg Clan

I found the same thing in my reading on Mac brown, the oring was out of order.

That's the way I got the gun.

Sorry for posting in the wrong section.

Assembled project. I put the stab on for the bling factor.

This thing likes gas. I've never run nitrogen until today, but the Tippmanns I gassed up today come nowhere near using this much gas. I hope having the ring in proper position calms that down some.

Alpha Beta Test Monkey
    Guang-Zoo Turbo Systems

Don't run a regulator on an Automag; it can starve the valve. The valve is a regulator and is all you need.

Automags are not air efficient compared to many (dare I say most) other markers.

Power tube oring down the bolt